Bristol Prize

Welcome to the Bristol Short Story Prize – an annual international writing competition open to all published and unpublished, UK and non-UK based writers. We publish an annual anthology of the winning stories as well as presenting cash prizes.

Photo: Michael Lloyd

The 2017 Bristol Short Story Prize has been won by Dima Alzayat (left, with guest speaker, Edson Burton and judge Juliet Pickering) for her story, Ghusl. 2nd prize went to Chetna Maroo, and a joint third prize was awarded to Bunmi Ogunsiji and Meg Tuite. Congratulations to all of them and the 17 runners up on the shortlist.





Dima’s winning story and the other 19 on the shortlist are now available in our brilliant new anthology which can be ordered from our publisher, Tangent Books. It will also be available to order from bookshops and the usual online outlets shortly.

We’ll have more on our awards ceremony and Dima’s triumph very soon.




You can follow us on Twitter for very regular updates on the competition and links to the exciting and dynamic world of short stories, writing, reading and publishing.