Bristol Prize

Valerie O’Riordan wins 2010 BSSP

July 19, 2010   Joe Melia

We’re really delighted to announce that Valerie O’Riordan (below) has won the 2010 Bristol Short Story Prize for her stunning and incredibly powerful story ‘Mum’s the Word’ – an unforgettable, 350-word piece of writing. It’s hard to imagine a story that could make more of an impact. The announcement was made by the chair of this year’s judging panel, Bertel Martin at the Arnolfini on Saturday. The Lord Mayor of Bristol and special guest, writer and creative writing teacher Sarah Salway, presented all the shortlisted writers with their cheques and copies of the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 3 which features stories by all twenty of the authors on the shortlist.

Ian Madden was announced as the 2nd place prizewinner for ‘Only the Sure of Foot’ and Rachel Howard came in 3rd place with ‘Gardening’.

Sarah, also, talked brilliantly about her love of short stories and called for celebration rather revival and saving – something we couldn’t agree with more! We are very grateful to Sarah, the Lord Mayor and, of course, the 11 writers on the shortlist who were able to be at the awards ceremony. We will be posting pictures of the event very soon.

(right) Eleven of the 20 writers featured in our new anthology came to the awards ceremony and were presented with their cheques and anthologies. They are, from left to right : Joanna Campbell, Claire King, Jonathan Pinnock, Nastasya Parker, Yana Stajno, Clare Wallace, Valerie O’Riordan, Ashley Jacob, Sherri Turner, Marli Roode and Ben Walker.                                                                                  

The anthology (left), featuring Valerie’s winning story and the other 19 shortlisted stories, is available from this website, the Book Depository, Amazon, Waterstone’s website, and some bookshops. If your local bookshop doesn’t have it in stock then they will be able to order it in for you. The writers featured in the anthology are : Mike Bonsall, Kate Brown, Darci Bysouth, Joanna Campbell, Tara Conklin, Rik Gammack, Rachel Howard, Ashley Jacob, Claire King, Ian Madden, Nastasya Parker, Jonathan Pinnock, Marli Roode, Rachel Sargeant, Yana Stajno, Natasha Tripney, Sherri Turner, Ben Walker and Clare Wallace.

Comments are closed.