Bristol Prize

Angela Readman and Avril Joy on Costa Shortlist

January 28, 2013   Joe Melia

angela readman

Two writers published in last year’s Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology have been selected on the six-strong shortlist for the inaugural Costa Short Story Award. Angela Readman (left) and Avril Joy (right) will find out tomorrow night if they have won the £3,500 first prize. The six stories on the shortlist have been put to a public vote and the story that has received the most votes will be revealed at the annual Costa Book Awards ceremony on Tuesday. The new Costa Short Story Award is run alongside the prestigious Costa Book Awards (formerly the Whitbread Book Awards) but judged separately from the established five-category awards. We will be keeping fingers crossed for Angela and Avril tomorrow night.

Comments are closed.