Bristol Prize

2012 Bristol Short Story Prize Launched

October 12, 2011   Joe Melia

The 2012 Bristol Short Story Prize is now open.   

Stories can be entered online or by post. The closing date for entries is 31st March 2012. Please read the rules and competition details before entering.

First prize is £1,000. 20 stories will be published in the Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5. The winning story will, also, be published in Bristol Review of Books and Venue magazine.  The 2012 Bristol Short Story Prize awards ceremony will be the final event of our 2nd ShortStoryVille festival which will be held next July.

The 2012 judging panel will be chaired by former Random House editor, Ali Reynolds, who now runs her own Literary Consultancy in Bristol. Ali will be joined on the panel by the writer broadcaster and critic, Bidisha, Anna Britten, writer and contributing editor to Venue magazine, and the celebrated novelist, Chris Wakling, whose latest novel  ‘What I Did’ was published by John Murray in September. Ali Reynolds says: “I’m thrilled to be chairing the judging panel for the 2012 Bristol Short Story Prize. Over the last few years the prize has celebrated diverse, heart-wrenching and powerful stories of such high calibre and I’m certain 2012 will build on this success. It will be a joy and a privilege to be involved in a prize with such international scope.”

We are very grateful to Arts Council England who are providing funding support for the 2012 Bristol Short Story Prize and ShortStoryVille festival.

Comments are closed.