Bristol Prize

2010 Longlist Announced

May 19, 2010   Joe Melia

Here is the longlist for the 2010 Bristol Short Story Prize. We received a total of 1,496 entries from all over the world. Many thanks to all those who sent in their stories, reading them has been a huge pleasure. Thanks, also, to our readers who approached the longlisting process with such enthusiasm, care and conscientiousness.

Big congratulations to the 40 writers who have made it on to the longlist- it’s a great achievement. The shortlist will be announced on Monday 7th June.

2010 Bristol Short Story Prize Longlist: (listed alphabetically by author)

Penny Aldred- Walking On Sand

Kristen Bailey- Rasa Sayang

Elizabeth Baines- Educational Psychology

Leo Batt- Here Comes The Night

Diane Becker- The Butterfly Effect

Mike Bonsall- Man Friday and the Sockball Championships

Kate Brown- Two Girls Under An Apple Tree

Darci Bysouth- Marrakech

Joanna Campbell- Struthio Camelus

Ben Cheetham- A Perfectly Normal Man

Tara Conklin- Signs Of Our Redemption

Felicity Cowie- The White Foot

Tristan Cox- Gary

Rachel Crowther- Bone Structure

Nicola Daly- Tango Man

Mary Farquharson- The Eagle

Rik Gammack- A Sense of Humour

Frances Gapper- Don’t Mind If I Fall Apart

Bruce Harris- Chasing Down Karelski

Craig Hawes- Night At The Plastic Surgery

Rachel Howard- Gardening

Ashley Jacob- Conservation Of Angular Momentum

Claire King- Wine At Breakfast

Wes Lee- Two In The Morning

Ian Madden- Only The Sure Of Foot

Sarah Frost Mellor- Raising Stones

Janine Mikosza- The Other Woman

Valerie O’Riordan- Mum’s The Word

Nastasya Parker- The Meek Inherit

Nasrin Parvaz- The System

Jonathan Pinnock- rZr and Napoleon

Mark Rickman- Saul

Marli Roode- Spring Tide

Rachel Sargeant- Born Not Made

Dave Schofield- Intimacy

Yana Stajno- Ten Plastic Roses

Natasha Tripney- An Experiment

Sherri Turner- Being Mother

Ben Walker- Bitter Gourd Fruit

Clare Wallace- But Then Again, Maybe It Is



Comments are closed.