Bristol Prize

2009 Shortlist Announced !

June 8, 2009   Joe Melia

The 20 stories chosen for this year’s shortlist are below. Many congratulations to all the authors who have made it to this stage of the competition. These stories will be featured in our Anthology which will be launched at the Awards Ceremony on July 11th. All the authors have been invited to the Ceremony for the launch and the announcement of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes.

The judges had a very difficult task in selecting the 20 finalists- the diversity of themes and styles,  the originality and power of the writing made for many agonising  decisions.

We are delighted to be publishing these stories, which are listed alphabetically by author :

Last Man Standing- John V Breen

The Sand Doll– Andrew Bridgmont

Lee Ferrer’s Brother– Sara Browning

The Piano– Nino Caputo

End-of-Life Liaison– Ruth Davis

Old Fires– Tessa Edmondson

With Thy Fire Divine– Joanne Fox

Malka– Inna Gertsberg

Upwards, and Upwards, and Upwards– Andrew Graham

Pictures in the Dust– Craig Hawes

Beyond the Blackout Curtain– Elizabeth Jane

That Kind of Man– Jessie Ledbetter

One in the Eye for Chance– A.R. Petersen

The Final Whistle– Nick Rawlinson

The Casket Maker– Eira Reed

The Whiteladies Picture House– Sarah Regan

Second Degree– Marli Roode

Rule of Thumb– Amy Shuckburgh

Alone in Bloemfontein– Mary Teague

The Woman in the White-Feathered Hat– Gemma Varnom

Comments are closed.